Daikin and Fujitsu both have long track records in New Zealand homes, and neither is a bad pick. The clearest difference is the warranty. A Fujitsu, sold today under the General Airstage badge, gets six years parts and labour when an accredited installer fits it. Daikin gives five. Daikin keeps the whole job with one Specialist Dealer and has the newer wall unit with wi-fi built in. Neither sells a named cold-climate range here.
Daikin vs Fujitsu: how the two compare
| Daikin | Fujitsu / General Airstage | |
|---|---|---|
| NZ distributor | Daikin Air Conditioning New Zealand, in Mt Wellington, Auckland | GENERAL HVAC Solutions New Zealand, in Seaview, Lower Hutt |
| NZ warranty | 5 years parts and labour | 6 years parts and labour with an Accredited Installer, 5 years otherwise |
| Installers who fit it | 224 of 1,020 NZ installer websites | 191 of 1,020 NZ installer websites |
| Cold-climate model | No named range | No named range |
| Phone app | Daikin Mobile Controller | myanywAiR Next |
| Quietest published indoor level | Not stated | Not stated |
| How you buy it | Only through Daikin Specialist Dealers, independently owned | Through General Airstage Accredited Installers and other installers |
Those installer counts come from 1,020 New Zealand installer websites checked in October 2026. You can browse every Daikin installer or every Fujitsu and General installer. If the Fujitsu and General names still trip you up, the Fujitsu and General Airstage guide explains the change in a minute.
Which has the longer warranty, Daikin or Fujitsu?
Fujitsu, if you pick the right installer. General gives six years full parts and labour on home single-room, multi-room and ducted systems fitted by a General Airstage Accredited Installer, and the cover reaches its Wi-Fi Adaptor II and ducted controller. Fitted by anyone else, it’s five years. So the first question on any Fujitsu quote is whether the installer is accredited.
Daikin is five years parts and labour on split, multi-split and ducted systems professionally installed in homes, whoever the dealer is.
The exclusions read much the same on both cards: poor installation, power supply faults, storms and pests, units moved to a new address, travel outside the area agents normally cover, and extra costs to reach a unit in a high or unsafe spot. On both, a replaced part is covered for the rest of the term or 12 months, whichever is longer.
→ Related: How to choose a heat pump installer
Which is better on the coast?
Neither warranty treats weathering or corrosion of the casing and coils as a fault. On the coast, your installer’s choice of site and protection matters more than the badge on the outdoor unit.
General’s Lifestyle and Comfort wall units have a “blue fin” treatment on the outdoor coil to resist corrosion in coastal areas. Daikin’s warranty expects owners to add corrosion protection when the unit sits in sea air or near industry. If you’re in Napier, Gisborne or anywhere the salt spray reaches the house, ask each installer what protection they’ll fit and what upkeep it needs.
→ Related: Heat pump covers and outdoor unit protection
Which copes better with frosty mornings?
Neither brand sells a named cold-climate range in New Zealand, so compare the exact models. The energy label shows heating output at 7°C and at 2°C. If your winters regularly drop below 7°C, check whether the 2°C figure holds up against the 7°C one.
Each brand has a feature that helps in a cold house. General’s Lifestyle wall units have a 10°C heat setting that stops an empty room dropping too far while you’re out, which suits a bach in Twizel or a spare room that gets used at weekends. Heating also tends to work better from a floor unit, because the warm air comes out nearer floor level, and Daikin’s Aura floor-standing unit is aimed at cold climates.
→ Related: Best heat pumps for cold NZ climates
How to compare a Daikin quote with a Fujitsu quote
Model numbers trip people up. In a Daikin wall unit code, such as FTXM25, the number is the cooling size: 25 means 2.5 kW. In a General or Fujitsu code it isn’t. On the energy rating register, an ASTG09 wall unit is 2.5 kW of cooling and an ASTG24 is 7.1 kW. So an FTXM25 and an ASTG09 sit in the same size class, even though the numbers look nothing alike.
Line the quotes up by the kW figures and the stars on the energy label, not the model code. If you’re still working out the size, start with what size heat pump you need.
Which app is better, Daikin Mobile Controller or myanywAiR?
Daikin’s newest wall unit, the Alira X, has wi-fi built in. Other compatible Daikin wall units need a WLAN adaptor. The app controls up to ten indoor units, groups them, and can connect straight to a nearby unit when there’s no home wi-fi network.
General uses the anywAiR Wi-Fi Adaptor II with the myanywAiR Next app. It plugs straight into Lifestyle units; on other ranges it needs a licensed installer and an extra cable. The feature list runs long: temperature rules, geofencing that switches the unit on as you near home, filter-clean reminders, and shared access for the whole household. A paid PLUS subscription adds usage history, a failsafe off timer and limits for guest users.
→ Related: Smart wi-fi heat pump control
Which is easier to get serviced?
Daikin keeps it simple. The Specialist Dealer who installed your unit services it, backed by Daikin’s after-sales team and spare parts warehouses in Auckland and Christchurch. A yearly check by a technician before winter or summer keeps it in good order.
General runs its own service team, General Assist, with trained technicians in Auckland and Christchurch and service agents across the country, including Wellington and Hamilton. You can find your nearest agent and book a service online. Whichever brand you own, keep the filters clean between visits. If you want to know what a service includes, heat pump servicing walks through it.
Which brand has more models to choose from?
Daikin’s wall range is deeper, with the Alira X, Alira, Zena Vogue, Cora, Standard and Lite. General has two wall families, Lifestyle and Comfort, both from 2.0 to 9.5 kW. For floors, Daikin has the Aura and General a compact floor console. For several rooms, Daikin’s Super Multi NX runs up to five rooms and its VRV systems up to 14; General’s multi systems run two to five indoor units, chosen from 21 indoor models in six styles. Both sell ducted systems for the whole house.
→ Related: Ducted vs high wall heat pumps
When does Daikin make more sense?
- You want one dealer to handle the quote, the install and every service after
- You’d like wi-fi built into the wall unit rather than added later
- You’re fitting out a big home that needs more than five rooms on one system
- You like a wide choice of wall unit styles
When does Fujitsu or General make more sense?
- You want six years parts and labour, with an accredited installer
- Your outdoor unit faces sea air and you want a corrosion-treated coil as standard
- You want geofencing and shared household access in the free app
- You’d like a manufacturer-run service team as well as local agents
For the full range, see the Daikin heat pump guide, or line every major brand up side by side in best heat pump brands in NZ.
